Horst Hamann. Museum Ritter

German-English photo book, 168 pages

Price: 26,- €

To celebrate the tenth anniversary of Museum Ritter, the photographer Horst Hamann has created an exceptional homage to the Museum. For nearly two years he has been a regular visitor here in Waldenbuch, and has captured the atmosphere in and around the Museum with his camera. The result is a weighty volume of photographs. They feature not only museum building and scenes from day-to-day work at the museum, but also the collector, the architect and impressions of Waldenbuch. These are then rounded off by portraits of the artists who have had their own solo shows over the past ten years at Museum Ritter. Horst Hamann has met them all personally in order to produce a suite of impressive portraits. Horst Hamann, born in Mannheim, spent nearly 25 years in the US before returning to Germany a few years ago. In the nineties he rose to international fame with his striking black and white vertical photographs of New York skyscrapers. He has put his name to over 25 books and volumes of his photographic work. For his book “Absolute New York” he has been awarded the silver Deutsche Fotobuchpreis (German Photo Book Prize) 2015.


Hommage to the Square

German-english exhibition catalogues, 308 pages

Price: 29,50 €

This catalogue is published to mark the large-scale presentation of the collection at Museum Ritter, “Homage to Square” (17.10.2009 – 11.04.2010), and showcases 112 works by means of reproductions and texts. Together with an interview by Kurt Weidemann with the collector, a review of the first four years of Museum Ritter by Gerda Ridler, and a look forwards by Barbara Willert to current abstract geometrical art practice, the publication gives a vivid picture of the collection, the collector and the museum.

With contributions by Marli Hoppe-Ritter, Gerda Ridler, Kurt Weidemann, Barbara Willert, and others
Publishers: Museum Ritter/Gerda Ridler, 2009


Square. The Marli Hoppe-Ritter-Collection

German-english exhibition catalogue, 362 pages

Price: 16,80 €

The opening exhibition at Museum Ritter and the accompanying catalogue with around 100 exhibits provide a representative view of the Marli Hoppe-Ritter Collection. Simultaneously the exhibits trace out in exemplary fashion the history of geometrical art from its beginnings in the 1910s to the present. The chronological point of departure is a small Suprematist pencil sketch by Kasimir Malevich from the year 1915. From there the narrative arc follows the various currents in Concrete Art from the 1920s to the 1950s, the "Zurich Concretists" and "Arte Programmata" in Italy, ZERO and Kinetic art, and right up to present-day approaches with computer art and installations

With contributions by Marli Hoppe-Ritter, Ralf Christofori, Gerda Ridler, and Barbara Willert, among others.

Publisher: Museum Ritter, Wunderhorn Verlag, 2006

Horst Hamann. Museum Ritter

deutsch-englischer Bildband, 168 Seiten 

Preis: 26,- €

Zum zehnjährigen Jubiläum des Museum Ritter hat der Fotograf Horst Hamann eine Hommage an das Museum geschaffen. Fast zwei Jahre lang war er immer wieder vor Ort, um die Atmosphäre im Museum Ritter mit seiner Kamera einzufangen. Aus diesen Momentaufnahmen ist ein umfangreicher Bildband entstanden. Die Bilder zeigen das Museumsgebäude ebenso wie Szenen aus dem Museumsalltag, die Sammlerin, den Architekten und Impressionen von Waldenbuch. Daneben sind Porträts der Künstlerinnen und Künstlern zu sehen, die in den vergangenen zehn Jahren eine Einzelausstellung im Museum Ritter hatten. Horst Hamann hat sie getroffen, um eindrückliche Porträts von ihnen anzufertigen. Der gebürtige Mannheimer verbrachte fast 25 Jahre in den USA bevor er vor wenigen Jahren wieder nach Deutschland zurückkehrte. In den Neunziger Jahren wurde er mit vertikalen Schwarzweiß-Fotografien von New Yorker Wolkenkratzern weltweit berühmt. Er ist Bildautor von über 25 Büchern und Bildbänden. Für sein Buch „Absolute New York“ wurde er mit dem Deutschen Fotobuchpreis 2015 in Silber ausgezeichnet.

Mit Beiträgen von Marli Hoppe-Ritter, Horst Hamann und Barbara Willert
Hrsg.: Verlag Das Wunderhorn, Heidelberg 2015


Hommage an das Quadrat

Deutsch-englischer Ausstellungskatalog, 308 Seiten

Preis: 29,50 €

Anlässlich der großen Sammlungspräsentation im MUSEUM RITTER „Hommage an das Quadrat“ (17.10.2009 – 11.04.2010) erscheint dieser Sammlungskatalog, der 112 Werke anhand von Abbildungen und Bildkommentaren vorstellt. Zusammen mit einem Interview von Kurt Weidemann mit der Sammlerin, einer Bilanz der ersten vier Jahre des MUSEUM RITTER von Gerda Ridler und einem Ausblick von Barbara Willert auf das aktuelle geometrisch-abstrakte Kunstschaffen vermittelt die Publikation einen anschaulichen Überblick über die Sammlung und die Aktivitäten der Sammlerin und des Museums.

Mit Beiträgen von Marli Hoppe-Ritter, Gerda Ridler, Kurt Weidemann, Barbara Willert u.a.

Hrsg.: Museum Ritter/Gerda Ridler, 2009


Square. Die Sammlung Marli Hoppe-Ritter

deutsch-englischer Ausstellungskatalog, 362 Seiten

Preis: 16,80 €

Der erste Sammlungskatalog erschien kurz nach der Eröffnung des Museum Ritter. Mit rund 100 Exponaten gibt er einen repräsentativen Überblick über die Sammlung Marli Hoppe-Ritter, Stand 2006. Die gezeigten Werke zeichnen zugleich exemplarisch die Geschichte der geometrischen Kunst von ihren Anfängen in den 1910er Jahren bis heute nach. Den chronologischen Ausgangspunkt der Sammlung bildet eine kleine suprematistische Bleistift-Skizze von Kasimir Malewitsch aus dem Jahr 1915. Von dort aus wird der Bogen gespannt über die verschiedenen Strömungen der Konkreten Kunst der 1920er bis 1950er Jahre, über die "Zürcher Konkreten" und "Arte Programmata" in Italien, über ZERO und die Kinetische Kunst hin zu aktuellen Strömungen mit Computerkunst und Installation

Mit Beiträgen von Marli Hoppe-Ritter, Ralf Christofori, Gerda Ridler, Barbara Willert u.a.
Hrsg.: MUSEUM RITTER, Wunderhorn Verlag 2006