Homage to the Square

Works from the Marli Hoppe-Ritter Collection from 1915 - 2009

18 October to 11 April 2010

Curators:
Marli Hoppe-Ritter and Dr. Barbara Willert

“Homage to the Square” – the name of Josef Albers’ celebrated series of paintings - is more than appropriate as the title of this new presentation of the Marli Hoppe-Ritter Collection. Drawing on her holdings of artworks dedicated to the square, Marli Hoppe-Ritter has put together a fascinating cross-section of paintings, works on paper, sculptures and objects from the realm of Concrete Constructivist art. Some 80 works ranging from Kasimir Malevich to the present give an intriguing insight into the abstract geometrical world of the square. And a great many of the exhibits are recent acquisitions and works from the last 15 years, which have never previously been exhibited at Museum Ritter.

 

More than any other shape, the square has managed time and again to keep artists in its thrall throughout the 20th and 21st centuries. Consequently the (art) historical span of this exhibition ranges from early geometrical painting in the 1910s to bang up to date works on the square.
Paintings and works on paper by classic artists of the first generation of abstract constructive artists - such as Theo van Doesburg, El Lissitzky, Kasimir Malevich, Nicolaj Suetin and Ilja Chashnik – give a perfect introduction to the early years of this new vision of art.
That geometrical art has continued to forge new paths in the post war period is vividly illustrated by works by from among others Willi Baumeister, Ad Dekkers, Thomas Lenk, Georg Karl Pfahler.

Pictures of the exhibition "Homage to the Square"

 

Another important focus of this presentation is directed to a parallel development – Kinetic Art and the kindred Op Art - that came at much the same time: Through surprising flickering effects and visual illusions, artists such as Martha Boto, Karl Gerstner, Christian Megert, Paolo Scirpa and Gregorio Vardanega have constantly enchanted their viewers.

 

To this day we find artists paying homage to the square with a mixture of dedication and passion. And it is refreshing to see with what self-assurance and levity present-day artists - who are particularly well represented in this exhibition - juggle with this shape. Not rarely through the help of new, unconventional techniques and materials such as Lego bricks, cleaning sponges, and ropes of beads. These young artists include among others Corrado Bonomi, Jessica Centner, Jonathan Monk, Antoine Perrot, Paola Pivi and Anatoly Shuravlev. Many of the members of this generation are fond of doing their own original, playful takes on the grand old men and pioneers of concrete constructivist art – above all Kasimir Malevich and Piet Mondrian - whose revolutionary works have once again attracted increasing attention in art circles.

 

By way of contrast come artists such as Gerhard Frömel, Gottfried Honegger, Nelly Rudin and Klaus Staudt, all leading practitioners of geometrical art who continue to pursue the rigorous tradition of Concrete Constructivism to the present day with high aesthetic standards. Their works, which shine out by their inordinate clarity and precision, belong to the innermost core of the collection and are of central importance to Museum Ritter.

Works of art from left to right:
Corrado Bonomi, Ein unmögliches Geschenk II, 2006 © Künstler

Hommage an das Quadrat

Werke aus der Sammlung Marli Hoppe-Ritter von 1915 bis 2009

18. Oktober 2009 bis 11. April 2010

Kuratorinnen:
Marli Hoppe-Ritter und Dr. Barbara Willert

„Hommage an das Quadrat“ – mit diesem Titel der berühmten Werkserie von Josef Albers ließ sich die Neupräsentation der Sammlung Marli Hoppe-Ritter zu Recht sehr treffend beschreiben. Aus dem Fundus ihrer Sammlung zum Thema Quadrat hatte Marli Hoppe-Ritter eine repräsentative Auswahl an Malerei, Papierarbeiten, Plastiken und Objekten der konstruktiv-konkreten Kunst zusammengestellt. Rund 80 Werke von Kasimir Malewitsch bis heute geben in diesem Querschnitt durch die Sammlung Einblicke in die geometrisch-abstrakte Welt des Quadrats. Unter den Exponaten befanden sich viele Neuankäufe und Werke der letzten 15 Jahre, die zuvor noch nicht im Museum Ritter ausgestellt waren.

 

Wie keine andere Form hat das Quadrat die Kunst des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts immer wieder in Atem gehalten. Die kunsthistorische Bandbreite dieser Ausstellung reicht dem entsprechend von frühen geometrischen Bildern der 1910er Jahre bis hin zu ganz aktuellen Werken zum Thema Quadrat.
Gemälde und Papierarbeiten von Klassikern der ersten Generation konstruktiv-abstrakten Kunstschaffens wie Theo van Doesburg, El Lissitzky, Kasimir Malewitsch, Nicolaj Suetin und Ilja Tschaschnik stehen exemplarisch für die Anfänge dieser Richtung.
Dass die geometrische Kunst auch in der Zeit nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg ihre eigenen Wege fand, zeigen ausgewählte Werke von Willi Baumeister, Ad Dekkers, Thomas Lenk, Georg Karl Pfahler und anderen.

Einblicke in die Ausstellung "Hommage an das Quadrat"

 

Ein wichtiger Schwerpunkt der Sammlungspräsentation lag daneben auf der in etwa zeitgleich entstandenen Kinetischen Kunst und der damit verwandten Op-Art: Durch unerwartete flimmernde Effekte und kunstvolle illusionistische Täuschungen begeisterten beispielsweise die Arbeiten von Martha Boto, Karl Gerstner, Christian Megert, Paolo Scirpa und Gregorio Vardanega.

 

Bis heute wird dem Quadrat in der Kunst mit Hingabe und Leidenschaft gehuldigt. Erfrischend souverän und ungezwungen jongliert die in der Ausstellung besonders stark vertretene zeitgenössische Kunst mit der quadratischen Form – und das nicht selten unter Verwendung neuer, unkonventioneller Techniken und Materialien wie Legosteine, Putzschwämme und Perlenschnüre. Zu dieser Gruppe junger Kunstschaffender zählen unter anderen Corrado Bonomi, Jessica Centner, Jonathan Monk, Antoine Perrot, Paola Pivi und Anatoly Shuravlev. Viele Vertreter dieser Generation beziehen sich originell und spielerisch auf die Urväter und Pioniere der konstruktiv-konkreten Kunst – allen voran auf Kasimir Malewitsch und Piet Mondrian – deren revolutionäre Werke gerade jetzt wieder verstärkt in den Fokus künstlerischer Rezeption gerückt sind.

 

Demgegenüber stehen mit Künstlerinnen und Künstlern wie Gerhard Frömel, Gottfried Honegger, Nelly Rudin und Klaus Staudt wichtige Vertreter der aktuellen geometrischen Kunst, die die strenge Linie der konstruktiv-konkreten Tradition bis in die Gegenwart auf hohem ästhetischem Niveau weiterführen. Ihre mit großer gestalterischer Klarheit und Präzision ausgeführten Werke gehören zum wichtigen Kernbestand der Sammlung und sind für das Museum Ritter von zentraler Bedeutung.

Abbildung ganz oben:
Corrado Bonomi, Ein unmögliches Geschenk II, 2006
© Künstler