ALIGHIERO BOETTI

Order and Disorder

26 October 2008 to 19 April 2009

 

 

Curator:
Dr. Barbara Willert

“I have often worked with the concepts of order and disorder, either by confounding order, or by presenting what is clearly disorder as the embodiment of an intellectual order… It is simply a question of knowing the rules of the game: if you are not familiar with them you will never be able to see the order that informs things. When for instance you look up at the sky and do not know the order of the stars, you will see nothing but chaos, whereas an astronomer sees a clear order to them”

Order and disorder, system and chaos – Alighiero Boetti (1940-94) not only thought in these categories, his entire artistic output revolved round these two poles. Like scarcely another artist he questioned apparent opposites and showed that it is all a question of how one regards them. Time and again he gave new artistic expression to this dualistic world view and in this way created his own cosmos in which opposites effortlessly interact.

In particular Boetti’s embroidered pictures draw their singular beauty from the synthesis of order and disorder. It was through his arazzi, as he called them, that the artist rose to international fame. In these works he fashioned words and texts into squares that form brightly coloured embroidered pictures. Only on second sight do the individual letters stand out from the splendour of their colours to reveal themselves as readable texts. A large number of small arazzi are on show at the exhibition, including Boetti’s masterpiece made up of 199 pieces, Order and Disorder (1985/96).

Alighiero Boetti’s penchant for idiosyncratic orderings and new arrangements did not even stop at his own work: in his wide-ranging folio work Insicuro noncurante [= uncertain – carefree] he looks back on his artistic cosmos from the years 1966-1975. The 81 leafs contained in the portfolio form the second major focus of this exhibition. They include formal geometrical studies and sketches for variations on the artist’s major works, along with photographs, photomontages, collages, and reprints of earlier graphics. Every single sheet is an artwork in its own right, while together they grant a unique insight into the artistic universe and life of an extremely diverse and fantastically obsessive artist.

 

Pictures from left to right:

Alighiero Boetti: Order and Disorder, 1985-86 (Ausschnitt) (c) VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2008
Alighiero Boetti: Dal la sfera al cubo, 1987 (c) VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2008
Alighiero Boetti: Insicuro noncurante, 1972-75, Nr. 9 (Gemelli) und Nr.1 (Contatore) und Nr. 57 (Colpo di stato) (c) VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2008

Alighiero Boetti

Order and Disorder

26. Oktober 2008 bis 26. April 2009

 

 

Kuratorin:
Dr. Barbara Willert

„Ich habe häufig mit den Konzepten von Ordnung und Unordnung gearbeitet, entweder, indem ich die Ordnung durcheinander gebracht habe oder, indem ich offensichtliche Unordnung als Verkörperung einer intellektuellen Ordnung präsentiert habe … Es geht einfach darum, die Spielregeln zu kennen: wer nicht mit ihnen vertraut ist, wird nie die Ordnung hinter den Dingen wahrnehmen können. Wenn man zum Beispiel zum Himmel aufschaut und die Ordnung der Gestirne nicht kennt, sieht man nur ein einziges Chaos, während ein Astronom eine klare Ordnung der Dinge wahrnimmt“    (Alighiero Boetti)

Ordnung und Unordnung, System und Chaos – in diesen Kategorien denkt Alighiero Boetti (1940-94), und um diese beiden Pole kreist seine ganze Kunst. Wie kaum ein anderer Künstler hinterfragte er scheinbar Gegensätzliches und zeigte auf, dass alles nur eine Frage der Sichtweise ist. Seiner dualistischen Weltsicht hat er immer wieder aufs Neue künstlerisch Ausdruck verliehen und sich so einen eigenen Kosmos erschaffen, in dem Gegensatzpaare mühelos interagieren.
Aus der Synthese von Ordnung und Unordnung beziehen vor allem Boettis gestickte Schriftbilder ihre spezifische Schönheit. Mit den so genannten arazzi ist der Künstler international bekannt geworden. In diesen Arbeiten quadriert er Wörter und Texte zu bunten Stickbildern. Erst auf den zweiten Blick schälen sich die einzelnen Buchstaben aus der Farbenpracht heraus und fügen sich zu lesbaren Texten. In der Ausstellung sind zahlreiche kleine arazzi zu sehen, darunter auch das Wand füllende, aus 199 Teilen bestehende Hauptwerk Order and Disorder (1985/96).

Alighiero Boettis Faible für eigenwillige Ordnungen und neue Arrangements macht sogar vor dem eigenen Werk nicht Halt: In dem umfangreichen Mappenwerk Insicuro noncurante [dt. unsicher – sorglos] blickt er auf seinen künstlerischen Kosmos der Jahre 1966-1975 zurück. Die 81 Blätter des Portfolios bilden einen zweiten Schwerpunkt der Ausstellung. Es befinden sich darunter geometrische Formstudien und skizzenhafte Variationen wichtiger Hauptwerke des Künstlers ebenso wie Fotografien, Fotomontagen, Collagen und Reprints früherer Arbeiten. Jedes einzelne Blatt ist schon ein Kunstwerk für sich, zusammen aber geben sie einen einzigartigen Einblick in die Kunst- und Lebenswelt eines überaus vielfältigen und fantastisch obsessiven Künstlers.

 

Abbildungen von links oben nach rechts unten:

Alighiero Boetti: Order and Disorder, 1985-86 (Ausschnitt) © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2008
Alighiero Boetti: Dal la sfera al cubo, 1987 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2008

Alighiero Boetti: Insicuro noncurante, 1972-75, Nr. 9 (Gemelli) und Nr.1 (Contatore) und Nr. 57 (Colpo di stato)
© VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2008